[028] Virginia Astley - From Gardens Where We Feel Secure

Label: Happy Valley Records / Rough Trade
Catalog#: HA 001 / ROUGH 58
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: UK
Released: 1983

A1 With My Eyes Wide Open I'm Dreaming 5:43
A2 A Summer Long Since Apart 4:36
A3 From Gardens Where We Feel Secure 3:59
A4 Hiding In The Ha-Ha 3:55
B1 Out On The Lawn I Lie In Bed 5:09
B2 Too Bright For Peacocks 2:29
B3 Summer Of Their Dreams 3:21
B4 When The Fields Were On Fire 3:15
B5 It's Too Hot To Sleep 5:18

音楽家系に生まれたVirginia Astley(ヴァージニア・アストレイ)は、エリック・サティやドビュッシーのアレンジに定評があったというグループ The Ravishing Beauties(ラヴィッシング・ビューティーズ)の活動の後、ソロ活動を始めました。本作は、自ら録音した小鳥や山羊の鳴き声、遠くで鳴る教会の鐘や、揺れ動く門扉などの風景音を背景に、ピアノとフルートによる自作器楽曲をミックスした1作目。「夏の日の雰囲気を喚起させる」というテーマのもと、A面は午前、B面は午後〜日が暮れてフクロウが鳴くまで、夏の一日を詩情豊かに描写。野外録音のロケーションはオックスフォードシャーのモールスフォード周辺。スリーブには録音した日時や場所が音源ごとに記載されています。TV番組のサウンドトラックとして制作されたという情報もありました。89年日本編集CD(邦題は「サンクタス」)には、富士通のCMで使われたという "Sanctus" や、12インチシングル "Melt The Snow" を収録。2004年再発CDの紫色の花咲く森ジャケットも好いですが、緑色を基調に押し花が配われた83年盤が美しいです。



[014] Morgan Fisher - Water Music

Label: Cherry Red
Catalog#: CDMRED178
Format: CD, Album
Country: UK
Released: 2000

1 Water In The City 6:34
2 Ice Melting 7:41
3 The Great Lakes 11:41
4 After The Rain 6:26
5 We Are All Water 13:24
6 Breathing Rain 5:56
7 On The Brink 8:22
8 We Are All Water (Oceanic Remix) 9:12

Lol Coxhill(ロル・コックスヒル)との共作「Slow Music」、サティ作品集「Inside Satie」、英国実験音楽家の小品を詰め込んだ「Miniatures」、環境ビデオや鈴木大拙記録映画の音楽、自然療法本の付属CDなど、元ロック・グループ出身者でありながら、アンビエントの多面性を感じさせる作品を数多くプロデュースしてきた鍵盤奏者Morgan Fisher(モーガン・フィッシャー)。この「Water Music」は、彼が日本に移り住み、ハンドメイド・スタジオを設立した80年代半ば、わずか2日間で録音されたVeetdharm名義のオリジナル・バージョン4曲に、ボーナストラックとリミックスを加えた拡張版。テープ・ディレイで幾重にも重ねられてゆくシンセサイザーとリリカルなピアノの即興演奏。波一つなく鏡のように静まりかえった湖面。都市に降り注ぐ雨。小さなしずくの滴りから果てしない大海原へ。水が見せる豊かな表情を、潤いに満ちたサウンドで描いた「水アンビエント」の名作です。電子楽器の蒐集家でもあるモーガンは、2004年から現在まで毎月「モーガンのオルガン」という、珍しいヴィンテージ・キーボードを多数使用したソロ演奏会を続けられています。

Born in London, England, 1st January 1950. Upon leaving high school, Morgan immediately began an active and ongoing international life as a musician. Artists he has played keyboards with include The Love Affair (#1 hit in 1968), Mott the Hoople (produced by David Bowie), Yoko Ono, Queen, and members of R.E.M and Y.M.O. These days he may be called upon to compose stylish TV and film music, create meditation music in a Zen temple, or jam with classic rock and blues bands. He has even played samba in Brazil and world music in China. All his life he has pursued photography as an art, as well as documenting his musical life using still and movie cameras. Since moving to Japan in 1985 he has specialised in and refined his own style of abstract photography, a kind of visual music, or “light painting” involving spontaneous, free movement of the camera and/or the light source. He utilises the finest digital equipment to create his images, which display a depth and subtlety more akin to painting than photography. Equally close to his creative heart are his solo live performances, improvised on a variety of rare vintage and modern keyboards while projecting his light paintings; they are a true synthesis of sound+light – unpredictable, uplifting, and inspiring.


[005] Giusto Pio - Motore Immobile

Label: Giusto Pio

Catalog#: Cramps Records
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: Italy
Released: 1979

1 Motore Immobile 16:58

2 Ananta 13:57

イタリアのヴァイオリン奏者/作曲家Giusto Pio(ジュスト・ピオ)が、1979年に初のリーダー作としてCramps Recordsより発表した作品「


Giusto Pio born 11 January 1926 is an Italian musician and songwriter. Born at Castelfranco Veneto where he actually lives, he studied music in Venice. Later he was engaged as violinist in the RAI orchestra of Milan. In the late 1970s and early 1980s he became popular as a long-standing collaborator of singer-songwriter Franco Battiato, by whom he was initially hired as violin teacher. Apart from working as a producer and musician on several successful albums with Battiato including L'era del cinghiale bianco and La voce del padrone, Pio also collaborated with him as a producer for several singers such as Milva, Alice and Giuni Russo. In 1984 Pio, Battiato and lyricist Rosario "Saro" Cosentino penned the Eurovision Song Contest entry "I treni di Tozeur", performed by Battiato and Alice, which finished 5th in the contest and became a considerable commercial success in Continental Europe and Scandinavia. Pio also released two instrumental LPs also in collaboration with Battiato under his own name, entitled Legione straniera 1982 and Restoration 1983. - discogs


Alan Licht: Minimalism Top Ten III
1. Harry Pussy - Let’s Build A Pussy (Black Bean & Placenta Double Lp, 1998)
2. Harley Gaber - The Winds Rise In The North (Titanic Double Lp, 1976)
3. Elodie Lauten - The Death Of Don Juan (Cat Collectors Lp 1985)
4. Wim Mertens - Maximizing The Audience (Les Disques Du Crepuscle Double Lp, 1985)
5. The Lost Jockey - The Lost Jockey (Les Disques Du Crepuscle Lp, 1982)
6. Roberto Cacciapaglia - Sei Note In Logica (Philips Lp, 1979)
7. Franco Battiato - Battiato (Ricordi Lp, 1977)
8. Giusto Pio - Motore Immobile (Cramps Lp, 1978) 
9. J.B. Smith - Ever Since I Have Been A Man Full Grown & Two Other Prison Songs Sung Unaccompanied (Takoma Lp, 1965)
10. Earth Earth 2 (Sub Pop, 1993)
11. David Rosenboom - Brainwave Music (A.R.C. Records, 1976)



[001] Stephen P. McGreevy - Auroral Chorus II: The Music of the Magnetosphere

Label: S. P. McGreevy Productions

Catalog#: -
Format: CD, Album
Country: US
Released: 2000

1 Alberta Wavering Tones June 96 Mono 11:12

2 Alberta Nose Whistler June 96 Mono 5:49
3 Alberta Nose Whistlers June 96 Mono 1:30
4 Alberta Nose Whistlers June 96 Mono 0:20
5 Alberta Nose Whistlers June 96 Mono 4:02
6 High And Med Pitch Chorus Manitoba Aug 96 3:00
7 Extended-Duration Risers Manitoba Aug 96 1:10
8 Rare Low-Pitch Extended Duration Risers Manitoba Aug 96 3:01
9 Chorus Trains Manitoba Aug 96 1:10
10 Dawn Chorus Stereo Alberta June 98 1:22
11 Whistlers Stereo Alberta June 98 0:34
12 Whistlers 2 Stereo Alberta June 98 0:19
13 Whistlers 3 Stereo Alberta June 98 0:38
14 Whistlers 4 Stereo Alberta June 98 4:33
15 Dawn Chorus Stereo Alberta June 98 5:03
16 Dawn Chorus 2 Stereo Alberta June 98 2:33
17 Dawn Chorus 3 Stereo Alberta June 98 2:57
18 Dawn Chorus 4 Stereo Alberta June 98 2:43
19 Lowpitched Chorus Hay River NWT 04 jun 96 1:13


A wonderful collection of Earth's mysterious (VLF) audio-frequency "Natural Radio" signals of Earth's Magnetosphere. "The Music of the Magnetosphere." This album, originally released as 1,000 CD copies in 2000 (as a single 52 minute CD set), follows up the wildly successful double-CD set Irdial-Discs' "Electric Enigma" released in London, UK, in 1996. You can also download "Auroral Chorus III: The Music of the Magnetosphere" limited-release double-CD set on this site as well. Auroral Chorus IV: Desert Whistlers, Trains, and Loma Prieta Earthquake audio archive from October 1989: I have uploaded (on 29 Sept. 2010) a NEW Album here at IA. Search for my name to get to the page of these "Auroral Chorus" series of MP3 releases on this IA site. - Stephen P. McGreevy, April 2010.



Stephen P. McGreevy - Electric Enigma: The VLF Recordings of Stephen P. McGreevy (1996)
Stephen P. McGreevy - Auroral Chorus I: The Music of the Magnetosphere (1998)
Stephen P. McGreevy - Auroral Chorus III: The Music of the Magnetosphere disc1/2 (2000)
The Conet Project: Recordings Of Shortwave Numbers Stations (1997)
Irdial-Discs A212 Version 2